



International Fair Trial Day Conference and the Ebru Timtik Award Ceremony

14 June 2023, Mexico City/Mexico

10:00 - 17:30 CST

In-Person & Online Event Venue TBC

Registration: <u>HERE</u>

PRELIMINARY AGENDA

10:00 -10:15	Opening Remarks
	- A representative of the Steering Group
	- A representative of the host institution
10:15 -10:45	Keynote Speeches
	 Judge Ricardo Perez Manrique, President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights
	 Commissioner Esmeralda Arosemena de Troitiño, Inter-American Commission of Human Rights, Rapporteur for Mexico (invited)
	 Ms. Margaret Satterthwaite, United Nations Special Rapporteur on the independence of judges and lawyers (invited)
10:45 - 11:45	Setting the Scene: Systemic Fair Trial Rights Concerns in Mexico
	Moderator: TBC
	Speakers:
	 José Luis Caballero, ICJ Commissioner, professor at the Iberoamericana University
	 Pedro Salazar, Director of the Institute of Juridical Research, National Autonomous University of Mexico
	- Laurence Pantin , Program Coordinator for Transparency in Justice and Special Projects, México Evalúa
11.45 – 12.00	Coffee Break

12:00-13:30	From Rights to Justice: Unveiling the Interplay Between Human Rights Challenges and Due Process in Mexico Moderator: TBC Speakers: Roberto López Miguel, Lawyer, Colectivo Los Otros Abogadoz Victorico Gálvez Pérez, Lawyer, HRC Fray Bartolomé de Las Casas Valentina Rosendo Cantú, Human Rights Defender, Indigenous Me'phaa community, State of Guerrero Martha Figueroa Mier, Lawyer, Women's rights defender, Chiapas
13:30-14:30	Lunch break
14:30 - 16:00	Seeking Accountability: Responses to The Phenomenon of Enforced Disappearances and Summary Executions Moderator: TBC Speakers: - Ana Lorena Delgadillo Pérez, Executive Director, Fundación para la Justicia y el Estado Democrático de Derecho - Tita Radilla, Vice-president of the the Association of Relatives of the Detained-Disappeared in Mexico (AFADEM) - Santiago Aguirre, Director, Centro de Derechos Humanos Miguel Agustín Pro Juárez (Centro ProDH)
16:00 - 16:30	Coffee Break
16:30 - 17:30	 Diego García Sayán, Former Special Rapporteur on the independence of judges and lawyers, Former President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights Representative of the Ebru Timtik Award Selection Committee Mirta Kupfernic, Multidisciplinary artist, Lecturer, Director of LABA-BA Awardee(s) (TBC)
17:30	Closing